I found an article about a painter from Holland who’s inspired by Indonesian culture. The painter, Hetty Ansing, came to Indonesia in 1993 and can’t stop coming back because she thinks that there are many things about Indonesian culture that she can put onto her paintings. Her primary inspiration came from Bali and Yogyakarta, which are pretty famous in Indonesian tourism. I think it’s very good news that my country can inspire an artist who’s not even Indonesian.

I believe that Indonesia should develop its tourism and promote its culture more because there are so many things about Indonesia that haven’t been heard by foreigners. Ansing said that she has heard about Indonesia even before she visited the country but it was not that interesting. She found interesting stuff only after she visited Indonesia. I think that’s a perfect example of “not enough good publication.”

It’s OK to know that there was avian flu, flood and tsunami in Indonesia, but people also need to know that there are beautiful dances, arts and delicious food in Indonesia that one cannot get in other countries.

I also think that appreciation has to come from the people inside too. As far as I know, Indonesians take their rich culture for granted. Most Indonesians do not really think of it as THAT special. If Indonesians cannot appreciate their own culture, how can Indonesians promote it to non-Indonesians? I think it has to start from the young generation like me. For example, Auguste Soesastro, he uses Indonesian fabrics for his designs. I need to think of an action that I can do to show my appreciation to my own culture too. Wait! I can continue writing about it. Maybe?

(284 words)

