When I woke up on August 13, 2009, I never knew that I would make friends, eat good food and drink quality coffee for the weekend. I’m certainly glad that I made a trip to Houston to see an old friend, Niken. She said that she has nothing to offer in Houston, but she was definitely wrong.

I met awesome people who were very nice to me and they sure know where to go when it comes to food, coffee and alcohol. =)

1) Tuscany Premium Coffee (5 Greenway Plaza, Houston, TX)

The good thing for me is, Ecky is Niken’s sister, so I got free coffee. YEAY!

Tuscany is ran by David Buehrer and Ecky Prabanto. When you look at this shop, nothing is very special about it. It’s just a shop with some complicated coffee machines and a register. The people, who work there, don’t even wear uniform. But, as soon as you order your favorite cup of coffee and talk to them, you know that this coffee shop is more than just a place to buy a cup of eyes-opening-liquid. The people behind the counters actually talk to you and ask you about your day. What I notice from my short visit to this place is that the buyers are friends with David, Ecky and Niken already. So, by paying $3.25, not only you get a cup of latte but also a conversation or potentially new friends who are expert in coffee.

2) Catalina Coffee (2201 Washington Ave, Houston, TX 77007-6138)

The owner is pretty serious about coffee.

If I live in Houston, I would definitely go here everyday with my laptop and order Iced Mocha Latte. Of course, their Iced Mocha Latte is not one of those latte that taste like water because the ice has melted and ruined everything. And I LOVE the setting there, it’s woody but it’s more toward artsy rather than country. They even hang small arts along the wall – geniiusssss!!

And both coffee shop do art on your coffee… It’s pretty cool!

3) Anvil Bar and Refuge (1424 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77006)

Definitely not for college kids who still think drinking is a must to get laid. LOL. This place is for people who don’t forget the importance of conversation amidst binge drinking =). I’m not an alcohol expert because my friend ordered for me – Bramble and Anvil’s Cup. I can’t complaint, I like them both. So, if you are rowdy when you’re drunk, please don’t come here because you’ll ruin the cozy atmosphere.

To close this “I don’t know what to do at 7:00 p.m. post” I think it would be wise to thank these people…

Niken and Ecky Prabanto, David Buehrer, Max Gonzales, Jon and Fabio.

and dogs…

Rambo and Honey Bell

I’ll see you guys sometime for another drink.

Peace from Maryland.