Charlyne yi

taken from: zimbio.com

” I suppose I’m creative since I create things.” – Charlyne Yi

Started her stand up career through an audition at the Improv, near her house, Yi believes that EVERYONE should do what they want to do and do it because YOU like it.

According to Yi, her success doesn’t happen merely because her hard works, but it’s also about TRUST from people around her. Frank, the manager of the Improv, where she auditioned, gave her a second chance after the first “horrible” audition — as she claimed it to be.

“If it wasn’t for him, I’m not sure where I would be. Because of my humor, not being of ‘traditional stand up comedy’, it was hard for me to get booked places. Anyone whoever booked me changed my life,” Yi said.

In fact, Matt Besser of of Upright Citizens Brigade theater allowed her to put her own show at his theater. That opportunity gave Yi the chance to be seen by people from the [entertainment] industry. From then on, Yi gets more opportunities of getting a manager, writing jobs and MORE auditions.

When it comes to her works, Yi takes almost everything GOOD for inspiration. “…sometimes the real world, events that happen to people that i see, or experience, or things that happen to me. Sometimes dreams. Sometimes purely imagination,” Yi said.

Just like she said about how hard it is to book a place because she is different. It’s kind of true, not only to the entertainment industry, but also to different individuals who have different tastes. Yi’s humor is not for everyone. But Yi knows that she loves what she does so she does it… and that is why we love her.

“I don’t know. Sometimes I don’t think I’m trying to be funny. Sometimes i just want to do something sincere, or sometimes I hope that they think something is funny, but am unsure because it’s maybe only funny to me,” Yi said. “I am not sure how to describe it [her sense of humor]. but, I am definitely not trying to be different.”

Not only comedy, she does music too. She has 10 bands. “No joke,” Yi said. And collaborating with people is one of the things that she likes. Learned how to play guitar from her friend, Raymond, Yi’s favorite instruments are guitar and harp. The portability of a guitar is what makes her like it and yes, she writes songs with the help of a guitar because that’s the easiest way for her. As for harp, Yi likes it because “it seems fancy and has a peaceful sound,” Yi said.

This vegetarian, who loves Mexican food, thinks that all of the three movies she’s been in are memorable. Her first movie experience, Knocked Up was “terrifying and amazing.” Even though we all know that she is an AWESOME performer, the Biz Markie fan, Yi, is not so confident when it comes to All About Steve, “I am embarrassed of that footage of me. I am horrible in that brief segment.”

As for her last movie, Paper Heart, Yi claimed that it’s a true adventure. “Paper Heart was a movie i was so involved in. So, of course, i will remember that experience and find it memorable. And also we met so many great people along the way of making the actual documentary portion.”

Looking for the meaning of love in the movie, Paper Heart, Yi doesn’t explain the definition that she has found (or maybe, she hasn’t found it) in the interview. However, Yi sure knows what she’s looking for in a guy.

“[my ideal guys] has the same sense of humor as me, is creative, says what he means, good at communicating, likes me as much as i like him, brave, intelligent, considerate, isn’t self destructive, humble, teaches me things, grows with me, strong-willed,” Yi said.

After five years of struggle, she finally get paid for what she loves doing. She is not old from what we can see, but she doesn’t want to mention her REAL age because age is just a number to her.

“I feel like people grow according to how they hold themselves and what they’ve learned as a human being,” Yi said. “The skin on the outside doesn’t always match up.”

Having to watched Capitalism: A Love Story, she wants to change the world because that’s what documentaries do to her — make her want to do something about the world. But, we all know for sure, there are many more creative things coming from her.

“My family who supported my decision to pursue what i do, the people who show up to my shows. Everybody is a key to where i am now. Wherever that is.” – Charlyne Yi


Check out Yi’s MySpace

