When I woke up this morning, the snow in front of my apartment has reached almost 26 inches. When I stepped on it, half of my legs were buried – note that I’m a very short person. So I thought, “This got to be a very hard day for me and other dog owners.”

But, because of my huge love for my puppy, Muttley, the blizzard (yes, blizzard, I said) would not be a reason for me not to take Muttley out. So, just like any other day, I put on my winter jacket, a really warm sweatpants and a pair of snow boots. And for the first time in my life I walked around outside DURING a blizzard. It was not a bad thing at all because when I think about it again, I am lucky for having to experience one of the snow-related histories in the United States. According to forecasters, this could be the heaviest snowfalls that Washington and the surrounding states have seen.

However, despite my optimistic and grateful attitude, this heavy snowfall has caused several weather-related accident in some places already, such as, Wythe County and Maryland.

“This extremely dangerous storm is expected to produce record snowfall for the Baltimore and Washington, D.C., metropolitan areas,” the National Weather Service said. (Taken from CNN.com)

When I was little, I never dreamed of going to any country with four seasons. Let alone experiencing a blizzard. Today, I sat in my room, next to the window and I saw huge snowflakes falling down from the sky. It’s beautiful.

It is unbelievable when I think about the now-and-then of my life. I never thought I could experience anything more than the sand on the beach. But now, I live in the middle of a historical snowfall. I’m not on a vacation. I live here. I live in an apartment, NOT A HOTEL! I’m not leaving anytime soon either, I’ll be here watching the snow melts in spring. And that would be another experience.

Danur and I took Muttley for a walk.

Towson, Maryland

