Yesterday was my last day of internship at AARP The Magazine (Yes, I finally wrote that forbidden word and before I publish this post, I’m going to put AARP as one of the tag).

Owh, most of you probably do not know why AARP is such a forbidden word on my blog. The reason is because I used to be one of their interns and we, and when I say we that means all employees, contractors, etc., are not supposed to mention (almost) anything about the company on our personal blog. They have this alert that will tell them everything that says AARP. It’s not something uncommon in a big company like AARP. So, I should I understand that. But, because I’m so out of there right now, I can say whatever I want. And I guarantee you, I’ll be honest here. Ready??

***

I LOVE my internship.There is nothing not to love about being an intern at AARP The Magazine. I know, you probably think, “So, you like working with old people?” or “Do you write about your grandma and grandpa?” Well, it’s not that bad to research on topics that appeal to that age group. I wouldn’t know that you could actually improve you eyesight just by believing that you could see better, if I didn’t research on deteriorating vision .

But, what I like most about this internship are the staff. Especially, my supervisor. I know most of you are familiar with one of those supervisors who thinks that you are JUST an intern. But not my supervisor. He is the sweetest supervisor EVER. He doesn’t talk down to me, he said thank you all the time, and of course, he always said please when he asked me a favor.

I kind of have different expectations when I entered The Magazine, but I can’t always get what I want right? I mean, how could I expect five bylines if I can’t even think of the word “minutiae” instantly and always use the word “detail” instead.

Anyways, I met the nicest people during my internship. The editors always have their door opened for questions and ideas. They also treated me like I’m smarter than I actually am. They talked to me like I was born American. They really did treat me nicely and never looked down on me (see! I can’t think of another expression for “look down”). LOL. OK. Let’s put it this way, they treated me like, uhm… let’s say reliable adult??

So, yeah, I think the most valuable thing about my internship is the fact that I could meet and work with these awesome people. I can learn about where to put commas by reading a writing manual. I can do research in an instant on Google. But, I can’t meet these people if I went somewhere else for the internship.

Everyone was very helpful. There’s one day when I really need help with the archive and this lady (whose name I’m not going to mention) helped me find all the stuff that I was looking for and she actually stopped what she’s doing and showed me all the things that I needed. She didn’t look like she was in a hurry at all. I could tell that she was VERY VERY OK with helping me.

Also, as an intern, I was included in many of their stuff. At my previous intern site, interns were not part of meetings AT ALL. Here, at AARP The Magazine, interns are always going to be invited for regular meetings. So, interns learn the process of publishing an issue. I mean, at least interns know enough about the publication. Which intern wants to be clueless all the time? EXACTLY. Not here.

And you know what else I like? My supervisor never referred me as an intern on the phone. My supervisor always said, “Awis here will transfer you to the right person,” or “Awis will send you the issues.” I think it’s really cool because I felt like I was treated equally with the rest of the people in there. It’s a great feeling.

Bottom line… no one should be worried about what I’m going to say here in the first place. There’s zero negative thing to blab about here. Cool??

It’s nice that I don’t have to commute from Towson, MD to Washington, DC during rush hour ever again. But, it’s sad that I won’t be seeing these good people anymore. On my last day, when I said good bye to them, I literally had to hold a little bit of tears. I’m glad that I’m done but I just couldn’t believe that it’s over. =(

But, I’ll make sure to stay in touch with them. Maybe one day I’ll come back to America. Or maybe, one of them will travel to Indonesia. Who knows?

